Skip to content

RTW 2010 FAQ

April 11, 2010

Where to?

I will travel around the world with my friend of 20+ years, Jade, for 6 months.  We chose the itinerary by emailing each other our top 10 places, and matching up as many as possible.  After 6 months I’ll be back home to check in with the husband for a few weeks, and off again for another 5 or 6 months solo.  I don’t have an itinerary for that yet but it will likely be Mexico and Central America.

Why the Blog?

The blog is a souvenir for me, for my mother who would never forgive me if I didn’t fill her in on all the details, and for my other family and friends.  Hopefully some other travelers will stop by too.

Why do You Travel?

My Grade 4 Social Studies textbook had chapters on 4 different countries, about school children my age and what they would wear.  I remember 2 things.  One – pictures of the Machu Picchu fortress on its impossibly steep high green mountain, and the bright striped woven cap and poncho of a Peruvian boy.  Two – that French children only had a few items of clothing, but they are better quality than what we wear here.  I resolved then that the French were snobs because Kmart wasn’t good enough for them, and that I would go to Peru when I grew up.

Peru was the first place I went when I finished school.  I saw Machu Picchu.  It was great, and it actually met my expectations.  I lived in Northern Peru far away from Machu Picchu in the small parched city of Piura.  It’s not on the gringo trail.  The LP lists no attractions for Piura except a small museum.  My tourist attractions were the food, the beaches and mountains, and the way of life.  Everything stops from noon until 3pm every day for siesta.  I’ve had the travel bug bad ever since.

What About the Consequences?

I love spending time with my husband, and people often ask how I plan to spend a year apart from him.

Ian said to a friend that he didn’t approve of my trip, but that he tolerates it.  He knows that I will become intolerable if I don’t get to go.  Sometimes he calls me the “f-ing gypsy”.  I was tempted to name the blog that.  The thing is Ian doesn’t like to travel for more than 2 weeks at a time.

Ian likes to say “I don’t like people” and “I don’t have friends”.  The first is mostly true.  The second is not true, he does have friends and he’s one of the most loyal people I’ve ever met.  He’s the Saint Bernard of humans.  If he likes you enough to be friend worthy, that friendship is worth a lot.  He’s a rock and I’m very grateful for his support.

What Will You Do?

Get out of my comfort zone but take it easy sometimes.  Don’t try to see everything.  Eat everything.  Walk and hike as much as possible.  Write it down so I appreciate it.

I realized while looking at our itinerary that most of the places we’re going are difficult places to travel, apparently the more difficult or exotic, the more attractive to Jade and I.  And I wonder why people call me crazy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle G permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:42 pm

    Best wishes on your trip Sariah. I’ll be checking your blog regularly so make sure you keep it updated! Enjoy the sites, food, culture, people and the view. Be safe and we’ll see you back home next year!!!!

  2. April 26, 2010 7:00 pm

    Thanks Michelle!

Leave a Reply

