Skip to content

Fo Shizzle

May 2, 2010

It’s Friday night, Cape Town hotel 8th floor.  The elevator is miraculously there for us – no having to wait.  Usually it takes so long to arrive that we’ve actually walked up the 8 flights to our floor.  It’s a tiny sweatbox.  A young man is in the elevator.  He’s wearing large mirrored sunglasses, a belt with lots of metal, and bright white sneakers.  Sneakers so bright they look like they’ve been polished.  He’s so close that I can read “Diesel” in tiny black script on the clear sticker still affixed to a lens of his glasses.  The door closes and the young man asks:

“Whass up?”

Jade – “Not much.”

Young man – “I said, whass up?”

Me – “She said, not much.”

Young man – “Where are you from?”

Me – “Canada”

Young man – “I’m from Norway.”

My awkward response, still trying to be polite – “Oh……..I think Norway’s nice…well, I’ve never been to Norway, but I’ve been to Sweden and it’s nice.”  Jade is studiously ignoring him at this point.

Young man – “Well, my mother is from Namibia, but I’m from Norway.”

Pause

We get to the 5th floor.   The door opens, but nobody gets in or out.  We continue down.

Young man – “Fo shizzle.”

Pause

Young man – “What floor are you on?”

Me – “I’d rather not say.”

Young man – “I said, what floor are you on?”

Me – “I said, I’d rather not say.”

Young man – “What’s up with that?”

Pause

Young man – “Fo shizzle”

Elevator gets to ground floor, as we exit he follows, and says once more:

“Fo shizzle”

We exit to the street and he stays in the hotel.

Me – “I think he was cruising the elevator.”

Jade – “I don’t know, but that was just weird, who does he think he is?”

Me – “I haven’t heard anyone talk like Snoop Dog in at least 5 years.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    May 2, 2010 8:45 pm

    Wow. Fo sheezy, I would take the stairs next time.

  2. Kristy Victoria permalink
    May 3, 2010 1:10 pm

    Even my Norwegian buddy had no idea what that was about, either!

    • May 7, 2010 1:37 pm

      He certainly didn’t look Norwegian! I’m betting he was South African. The Norway thing was pretty random

  3. Gab permalink
    May 10, 2010 4:44 am

    First thing to do Monday morning….teach all my students to say ” Fo shizzle!”

  4. Evan permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:45 pm

    This is useful information for me. Since Snoop Dogg in elevators are apparently considered inappropriate ways to meet women, what about … hmm … asking women in the frozen food aisle to dance the Macarena? Heyyyy Macarena! Don’t tell me that’s passe too!

    • May 22, 2010 10:13 am

      Always happy to help on the how to meet women front……… do not try the Macarena.

      Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment, it was stuck in my spam filter.

Leave a Reply

