Skip to content

Bafana Bafana

May 8, 2010

Here is what a World Cup ticket looks like.   

Bafana Bafana is the name of South Africa’s national soccer team.  It means Boys Boys in Zulu.  There are a lot of people around Cape Town sporting yellow and green Bafana Bafana t-shirts.  I would be too except I look bad in yellow.  I’m now the proud owner of an “Italia” soccer t-shirt, because it’s blue which is a better color for me, and I needed to buy a new shirt.  I would have been super stinky otherwise since my bag didn’t arrive until the 3rd day.  The South Africans are giving me a hard time about Italia.

I’m now in Namibia, will post soon about the huge dunes!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    May 8, 2010 3:20 pm

    I think I would wear it even though I look like death in yellow. Bafana Bafana just sounds cool.

  2. Kristy Victoria permalink
    May 8, 2010 5:30 pm

    What took your bag so long? Did it not come on the plane with you?

    I don’t blame you, yellow is tough to wear!

    You must be getting quite tan.

    Tell us about the food! And the smells!!

    • May 21, 2010 12:27 pm

      My checked luggage (backpack) took 3 days to arrive. I’m getting a tan, and getting fatter….they eat so much meat here! The best thing so far has been the spicy sausage. The jerky is also good – called Biltong, made from Springbok, which is a small antelope.

  3. Lloyd permalink
    May 8, 2010 5:44 pm

    Nice to see that you got started – the volcano and stuff. My lying by the pool on Maui with a Mai Tai was really good…

  4. Nancy permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:42 am

    I would love to visit Namibia! The closest I’ve gotten was a visit to their embassy here. Will you be going to Botswana?

    • May 21, 2010 12:30 pm

      Hi Nancy. Yep, I spent a few days in Botswana, the Okavango Delta was awesome. Now I’m in Zambia, will be there for a few weeks before heading back to South Africa.

  5. steve O permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:36 pm

    Wow!

    • May 22, 2010 10:09 am

      Hi Steve. By the way, I got your other comments but didn’t allow them as this is a “family blog”.

  6. Annette LaBrie permalink
    August 7, 2010 6:58 pm

    Sariah,

    I’ve read your blog thus far & looked at your amazing photos. This REALLY seems like your calling! You should be a writer/photographer for National Geographic..now THAT would be an awesome job! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Burn Italia Burn « roam if you want to

Leave a Reply

