Skip to content

The Faces of Petra

June 22, 2010

I’ve said before that the National Parks in Utah (Zion, Bryce, Arches, Canyonlands) are the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to.  Now the most beautiful place I’ve been to is Petra.  It’s better than any possible expectation.  Pictures can’t do it justice, but that didn’t stop me from going snap happy.

The Treasury, afternoon

The Treasury was a particularly beautiful bright pink just before sunset, and surprisingly we had the place almost to ourselves. 

The Treasury, morning

The Treasury by candlelight

Canyon, morning

The approach to The Treasury is through a 1200m long canyon with walls up to 80 high.

Canyon, night

Eroded Tomb Façade

Some of the carved tomb façades are almost completely eroded, making them blend into the surrounding rock formations.  In the case of The Treasury and many others, the carved architectural features remain perfectly crisp.

Jade and I

Tomb Interior

View from Tomb Interior

The Petra site is huge.  We spent a day and a half there, but could have spent more especially in a cooler season.  Imagine something like Zion National Park, of that scale and awesome natural beauty, except that intricate architectural façades and tombs are carved all over the place as you pop around the next bend in the canyon.

I’m already planning my next visit – Ian get ready for 2013!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    June 22, 2010 7:38 pm

    Okay, that’s just breathtaking, even if the pictures don’t quite do it justice.

  2. Ian permalink
    June 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    Wow, I have a new wall paper! beautiful pictures. It’s paying of to carry the small awkward tripod, ah? Very good job capturing it without shadows so we can see the real color, and then at sunrise.
    This is the place where we would have met … if it would be a 8 hr flight…

    • June 30, 2010 8:54 am

      Yep, thanks to you I have this tripod. And it’s one of my most used items. I see a ton of people with huge expensive cameras and lenses, way more $$$ than mine, but no tripod and they can’t take some of these pictures.

  3. Michelle G permalink
    June 28, 2010 12:09 pm

    I’ve read alot about Petra. I’m so jealous you got to go and see it in person! Amazing how advanced it all is.

  4. June 29, 2010 7:02 pm

    Hello Sariah and Jade,
    Just started following you because I am a little techno challenged. The pictures and stories are facsinating and would encourage anyone to break out of their comfort zones. Petra is magnificent
    and I am sure these experiences will change your lives forever, setting up the framework for a very
    exciting future. The photography looks very good and gives an excellent sense of being of actually
    being there. I remain humbled by your sense of adventure and of course very proud.
    Maybe Turkey might work for me later in the year I will look for the date of your arrival.
    Lots of love to both of you!
    Miss you,
    (Auntie) Lauren xo

    • June 30, 2010 9:00 am

      Hi Lauren – nice to see you on the blog! I too am “techno challenged”, but it’s been worth learning how to take pictures properly and do the blog. We just got to Turkey, will be here another 2 weeks, in Istanbul July 12 to 15 or so. Thanks for commenting, love you too. Sariah

Leave a Reply

