Skip to content

I Like Big Butts and I Can Not Lie

August 11, 2010

Sir Mix-A-Lot would approve.  The sheep of Kashgar have some seriously big butts. 

Yes, I’m quoting another cheesy song from my junior high school days.  Should I make the focus of the blog more specific – not just travel, but travel and quotes from the best songs of the late 80’s / early 90’s?

Kashgar Livestock Market

Long rows of 20+ sheep tied together alternating head to head, like a giant sheep zipper.

sheep zipper

Dear blog readers, all 6 of you – sorry the posts have been so few and far between lately.  The internet in China is even worse than Africa!  I have several posts ready to go, fingers crossed that Nepal will have faster connections and I can post them in a few weeks.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:59 pm

    Sariah:

    As one of the “six”, I am always happy to find out where you are and what you are doing. I do forward you notes on to many friends since none of us would ever get to do what you are doing or would even dare to.

    Stay safe…

    Lloyd

  2. August 11, 2010 9:24 pm

    I love these photos of the sheep and find that your commentary gets funnier as you go along.
    It honestry feels like I can just drop in on your travel adventure anytime and following where you are gives me confidence that you are safe. The juxtaposition of the mens cloths versus the conditions
    the living conditions is interesting. Perhaps you can get some yarn and start knitting some ethnic
    looking clothes. I am sure these men would volenteer some of their wool to the woman with the tripod? AL xo

    • August 11, 2010 9:31 pm

      I agree with Lloyd you are going places that I would never in dream of. This is turning out to be an amazing experience for all of us ALxo

      • August 26, 2010 6:49 am

        Thanks Lauren. I never dreamed I would go to Kashgar either, it’s not somewhere you hear about except for the ethnic violence pieces in the news. It has been one of the most interested stops so far.

  3. Michelle permalink
    August 13, 2010 12:47 pm

    Hi Sariah!!!!

    OMG I typed up this thing and now I have to re-do it because I forgot to put in an email address.

    I had a few questions in my mind so when you get a spare minute, and a good internet connection…
    1. What has been your favorite food so far (and from what country)
    2. Least favorite food
    3. Most rewarding experience so far
    4. Favorite place visited – any place you would go back to with more time?
    5. Has there been a “been there, done that, was nice but probably wont be back” place?
    6. Most breath-taking views
    7. Funniest moment
    8. How many oranges fit in a canoe?

    Be safe and we all look forward to your next update!!!!!

    • August 26, 2010 6:50 am

      Hi Michelle. Thanks for your thoughtful questionnaire. I will do a seperate post to answer your questions.

  4. Michelle permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:31 pm

    Everytime I leave a comment, it says “you already said that”. But I haven’t said anything!!!!!! hehehe Hope all is well. Questions:
    1. Favorite place visited
    2. Favorite food so far
    3. Worst food so far
    4. Most rewarding experience

    Looking foward to your next update! Stay safe 🙂

  5. August 26, 2010 6:52 am

    Bummer, sorry about that, I don’t know why it would do that!

Leave a Reply

