Skip to content

Imported Quality

August 26, 2010

As I’m checking out of the Seman Hotel, the chamber maid runs after me and says “you room 104?”.  Yes.  “Come to room”.  She explains something quickly in Chinese to George, my tour guide.  I ask George what the problem is, and he won’t say, but tells me I have to go back to the room with her and look at something.

She points at the clear plastic stand on the bathroom vanity which had been holding a small box of condoms and says “this not free”.  I look closely at the plastic stand and see that it has a tiny sticker with the price of 5 Yuen on it.  I had taken the box thinking it would make a great gag gift for my husband.  The box says “imported quality condoms” and “individually electronically leakage tested”.  I guess the one child policy has made the Chinese very concerned about condom quality.

I say sorry, hand over the 5 Yuen, and we’re both giggling.  She asks “how you say in English, write it”.  I write down the word “condom” on a piece of paper in English – I gather this isn’t the first time a tourist has made off with what they thought was a freebie.

No wonder George wouldn’t tell me the problem and had me follow her back to the room.  I wonder what he thought Jade and I were doing with a box of condoms.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    August 26, 2010 11:47 am

    I like that your title is Imported Quality. Although Electronically Leakage Tested is a bit more provocative.

  2. August 26, 2010 8:15 pm

    Hi Sariah,
    Wonderful to hear from you! I love this story and it becomes even funnier when the
    Travel Guide gets involved. He probably was using his imagination about what an exciting
    time you and Jade had. I guess he won’t have any doubt about your sexual preferences.
    ie: Are you and Jade Partners???? Busy as usual here but Billy and I are off to Whistler for a relaxing and biking weekend. The weather is changing as are the trees they are are proudly
    displaying their Autumn colours. I adore Vancouver at this time of year. There actually was snow on the top of Whistler!!!! We are excited to get back on our skiis again.
    Hopefully you will join us at Whistler around your Dad’s Birthday.He wants to come up to ride the Peak to Peak Chair. Maybe we can have a little reunion. Miss you daily and keep you in my prayers. Love to you and Jade. AL.xo

    • August 27, 2010 6:47 am

      Hi Lauren. I did have a good laugh over what George must be thinking. My flight is on October 22nd, so maybe I will make it for dad’s birthday if you guys are celebrating it a bit late. I think he will be very impressed by the peak to peak – I definitely was. Hugs. Sariah

Leave a Reply

