Skip to content

Beautiful Boy

August 29, 2010

The Gai Jatra Festival is a day to remember loved ones who have died in the past year.  It’s a parade where anyone can join in – I did.  There are lots of marching bands, and families where the younger members are dressed up in costumes. 

This is one of my favorite shots of all time.  I walked next to this young man for some time, and even many locals turned to look at him.  When I asked to take his picture there was no response.  I asked again and he stopped walking, didn’t give me a nod or a smile or anything, just stared straight at me.  I felt that he condescended to allow me to take his portrait.  

young man in Vishnu costume

 When I asked a local why so many boys were wearing makeup, he explained that they’re not dressing up as women, but as cows and Hindu gods like Vishnu.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren Persson permalink
    August 29, 2010 4:45 pm

    Hello Sariah,
    I agree a magnificent photograph of the young man juxtaposed against the maturity of the Vishnu dress.
    These symbols of worship to the the supreme God of the Vaishnavite tradition of Hinduism.
    (The preserver of the universe). A very colourful photographic opportunity and a fun way to integrate
    into their culture. Perhaps we will be publishing several family books ???
    Miss you! Love Lauren

    • August 31, 2010 7:50 am

      Thank-you Lauren. Definitely no ambitions for myself to publish, but I will be very interested to read your pages when you feel like sharing!

  2. Ian permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:07 pm

    Sariah, you need to be careful with what you publish when you return to the US.
    I would hate to see your name in a sex offenders list. At least you were careful enough to hide the nipples.

Leave a Reply

