Skip to content

The Sublime Part II: Tibet

September 6, 2010

Everest Base Camp

This is not a good picture, but I had to throw it on here anyways.  It’s the best shot I got of Everest since it was overcast most of the time. 

Top Gear candidate #1: road to Ganden Monastery

Top Gear needs to do an episode in Tibet – there are tons of roads like this.   The road to Ganden Monastery might win the record for number of switchbacks per kilometer.  Those crazy monks had to go build a monastery up there.

Top Gear candidate #2: road to Yamdrok Tso Lake

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniela permalink
    September 6, 2010 3:27 pm

    I just roamed on to your blog from the Perfume Posse. Wonderful photos! And I love the Top Gear reference. Those do indeed look like some very TG-worthy roads 🙂

    • September 7, 2010 2:50 pm

      Thanks Daniela! I love the posse, used to be my first read of the day when I was at home – now I check it when I can.

  2. Lauren Person permalink
    September 6, 2010 5:12 pm

    Hi Sariah,
    The terrain and the imposing sight of Everest and the base camp is so ominous
    I wonder if seeing it is enough. Does one need to climb it to ge the full impact!!!!
    I felt nervous just looking at it. How are you traveling through this area?
    Those road make me dizzy just looking at them ,I guess that is why you my dear
    are on this amazing travel adventure and I am at home having tea and contemplating
    life. If you can navigate the road the reward is becoming a monk at the monestry!!!
    Have fun and stay safe. Lauren

    • September 7, 2010 2:52 pm

      Hmmmm, I didn’t drive on the roads, I was a passenger in a truck with a professional driver, but your comment is making me think about how it would be to drive there myself. I would love to drive the mini on those roads! Ian would go crazy over it too.

      • Ian permalink
        September 19, 2010 9:30 pm

        yeah I would! really nice pictures and really nice roads. You also must have been just a little disappointed to be there without the mini

      • Sissi permalink
        December 1, 2010 10:12 am

        But you did want to drive on that road! Hehehe

  3. Sissi permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:51 am

    Awww, I never think you could get such a good picture at Mt. Everest Base Camp. That day, weather was really bad.

    • December 1, 2010 12:59 pm

      Thank-you Sissi. Really nice to see you on the blog. And yes, I would really love to drive there! But my husband is super crazy for driving on curving roads so it would be heaven for him.

Leave a Reply

