Skip to content

Welcome to Malaysia

September 11, 2010

Early morning subway ride to get to the airport, you know the drill – check in, security, wait around for an hour and a half.  It’s a short flight from Singapore to Kuching on the island of Borneo, East Malaysia.  Eric from the Fairview Guesthouse picks me up.  He asks if I want to try a local food called laksa.  Yes please!  Jade and her relatives had given me a list of things I needed to try in Malaysia, and that’s one.  Eric takes me to a very simple food court for laksa and so begins my love affair with the dish that I’ve eaten every day since my arrival – that’s 9 days so far.

Eric with a bowl of laksa

Laksa is a soup with vermicelli noodles and broth of coconut milk, curry, chilies, and lime.  It’s a flavortastic combination of sweet, acid, spicy and creamy. The soup is topped with chicken, bean spouts, prawns and strips of omelet.  It’s very popular for breakfast and lunch. 

After the laksa Eric also treats me to rojak and iced katcha – 2 favorites I’d tried in Singapore.  Over the next few days various locals I meet declared themselves to be a:

  • foodie
  • food snob
  • walking food directory

They’ll give opinions on which city in Malaysia or Singapore has the best laksa, or rojak, or whatever.  Now I begin to understand the food obsession of Jade a little better.  She spent the first 13 years of her life on Borneo.  Malaysia’s food obsession is like hockey in Canada.  I have come to the right place.

Later the same day I take a boat cruise.  Even though I’ve taken a ton of sunrise and sunset shots on this trip, I’ve managed to restrain myself from posting them until now.  I was treated to the most gorgeous sky and I just have to post a few!

I will be in East Malaysia for about a month.  My first day was certainly an auspicious beginning.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 6:20 pm

    My dearest Sariah, Borneo looks like paradise. I can tell that gastronomic pleasure has lightened
    your mood. I think you will be favored by good fortune during your stay. So relax and
    enjoy!! Wish I was there and now I have to go look for some laksa to try.Yummie Lxo

    • September 14, 2010 9:50 am

      Hi Lauren,
      Absolutely, I have been favored with good fortune. I am a lucky girl to get to spend a month here on Borneo.

      • September 14, 2010 7:14 pm

        Enjoy the sunshine and let yourself relax a bit. You certainly deserve the break!!
        Heard from Liina today,your parents are in Estonia and touring around with
        Tiiumai.Yikes I just figured out how to read your replies to my comments.
        This has been a great learning experience for me!!!
        I think there is a clean toilet blog maybe I will have a look and add my “foot print”
        story Haha!
        Love to you! Lauren xo

  2. Ian permalink
    September 20, 2010 1:42 am

    You need to learn to cook laska rojak and katcha to feed your husband when you return. Nobody is taking care of him, his starving, and his pants are falling!!!

    • September 22, 2010 7:34 am

      I have a better idea. YOU need to learn to cook laska, so I can still have it when I get home.

  3. Liz permalink
    September 27, 2010 4:33 pm

    sounds like you are very having a wonderful time Sariah and i LOVE the sunset photos. Middle one is my favorite i think – i might have to request a copy once you’re back so i can put it on my wall.
    Have fun in Borneo.

    • September 29, 2010 11:16 am

      Hi Liz! Nice to see you on the blog. You can have any pictures you want, flattery goes a long way with me.

Leave a Reply

