Skip to content

Beach Life

February 8, 2011

I took my share of pictures of beautiful sunrises and sunsets, waves crashing, white sands and aquamarine water, during several weeks of hanging out on beaches in Mexico.  These are just a couple of my less typical and favorite beach shots, plus a video.

hammock action in Playa Del Carmen

more hammock action in Playa Del Carmen

These hammock pictures and video are from a cloudy morning hanging out in the courtyard of my hostel in Playa del Carmen with a cool couple from Seattle.  Daniel’s nickname is El Conejo (the rabbit in Spanish).  We bonded immediately over this, as Ian’s nickname for me is La Coneja (the rabbit, feminine).  Lisa’s nickname is La Muñeca (the doll).  Daniel is a Flamenco guitarist.  Listening to him practice from the comfort of my hammock was an unexpected but perfect way to spend a morning.

Tulum ruins

There are a lot of Mayan ruins in Mexico.  My favorite is Tulum.  These are not imposing pyramids like Chitchen Itza.  It’s a complex of charming small scale temples and palaces, in the most perfect setting on the cliff above the most perfect beach.  If I was going to build a temple (to worship what – sleep, cheese, skiing?) this would be the place, and the scale.  The architectural shapes are quirky, with many walls being at non-right angles, and door openings wider at the top than at the bottom.

I rented a beach bike and pedaled out to the ruins at opening time, 8:00am.  There were just a handful of tourists.  I walked around taking pictures like a giddy idiot, and then descended down to the crescent of a beach – perfect Caribbean green water and sand like powder.  In the water were just me and a couple of Europeans in Speedos.  When I got back up to the ruins the place was packed with bus groups………it definitely pays to come early.

That afternoon I saw the ruins again from the water, on a snorkeling trip with Captain Jose, in the “Love Boat” – his very brightly painted pink and green boat.

Tulum ruins viewed from the very pink “Love Boat”

Note: I am posting this from home in Virginia.  There is snow on the ground.  I’m here for a couple of days between Mexico and Colombia, because it’s more economical to get 2 roundtrip tickets to and from the US, than fly from Mexico to Colombia.  Crazy.  Ian is coming with me for the first 2 weeks in Colombia……….WOO-HOO!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 6:15 pm

    beach life clearly suits you – you look really well! (that or it’s the prospect of spending some time with your husband. Or both).
    Still travelling. Ack. More power to you. I’ve been working since September!
    Ice.

    • February 9, 2011 8:34 am

      Dear Ice, Thanks for your kind words! I can’t say enough how great it is to be with Ian again. I go back to work in mid April, 2 months left. A year is a long time, I will definitely be ready to go back. I’ve met some people traveling for 2 or 3 years……..I think that’s way too long. Sometimes it’s nice to have “home” to look forward to and not just the next destination.

  2. February 10, 2011 6:43 pm

    Hello La Coneja, How exciting to be traveling with handsome “Mainman”. This adventure sounds
    like great fun and very light weight. Good for you and really enjoy your time with Ian!!!!
    Love ALxoxo

    • February 10, 2011 7:27 pm

      Hi Lauren, yep it is pretty light weight as compared to Western China and lots of other places I’ve been to so far……we arrived in Cartagena today and so far it feels excellent – very “vacation”.

Leave a Reply

