Skip to content

Still Alive in Colombia

March 13, 2011

Remaining days left until I fly home: 30

Remaining days left until I start work: 36

Remaining motivation to write blog posts: 2.7%

Dear blog readers –

I’m entering the home stretch of one year on the road.  Colombia has been wonderful, hopefully I find some motivation to write something about it, but I certainly don’t have it right now.  So, here is a brief rundown of Colombia so far:

2 weeks on the Northern Carribean with Ian: Cartagena, Parque Tayrona and the wild north of La Guajira Province.  1 week hiking to the Ciudad Perdida (lost city).  1 week as a beach bum and Carnaval in Barranquilla.  Currenly spending 1 week in the gorgeously green Zona Cafetera.  Then I will be in Bogota where Mom and Gabrielle will be meeting up with me for a week – yay!

Here is one of my favorite shots by Ian from La Guajira Province, at the far north of South America in Punta Gallinas.  We slept in these super wide delux hammocks.

hammock action in Punta Gallinas

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren Person permalink
    March 13, 2011 1:43 pm

    Wow, I am so happy to hear from you with all the turmoil going on in the world that you are
    safe and enjoying the final leg of your year long journey. It is great that Marlene and
    Gabrielle are meeting you for a “girls” adventure. Wish I was joining all of you , but find it to difficult to go so far for a week even though I would be there is you needed me. My trip to Switzerland and France a few years ago for four days left me tired for weeks, Such a wimp aren’t I. It is snowing like crazy at Whistler today,about a meter of new snow. It is definately
    a powder ski day. Bill and I have skied about 35 -40 days so far and are hoping for 50 or more this season. It has been frightfully cold some days -30C. oooheeee. I looked like Noonokette from the north in all the protective gear. Much nicer to be on those beautiful islands and partaking in Carnaval. Fun!!! So ready for our beach vacation at the end of April, laying on the beach sounds good to me. Have to get a double wide hammock!!!
    Working hard to get our store blog up and running hopefully by next week. Writing is a brain drain.
    I am really glad that you and main man Ian had some time together and what a romantic
    setting. But do the hammocks fit two or do you just get tangled up and fall out????
    Love you Lxo
    Billy says hi too.

    • March 13, 2011 7:40 pm

      Hello Lauren,
      1 meter of snow? Excellent. Hope you have an extra long season. Is your beach vacation going to be in Hawaii?
      I know what you mean about going a long distance for a short trip. Luckily it’s the same time zone here as at home, so no jet lag!
      I didn’t try the hammocks with 2 people. There were 5 or 6 hammocks in the shelter, so not exactly a romantic snuggle type situation.
      Hey that’s excellent to hear you’re making a blog for the store, and yes, writing is a lot of work! I look forward to checking it out when it’s up.
      Big hugs and hi to Bill too
      Sariah

  2. March 13, 2011 2:45 pm

    ooof. You’re showing some stamina still being out there. I’ve been back at work for exactly 6 months today (although we are off to NY next week to hook up with Gums)
    Props to you girl. Enjoy it while you can and don’t worry about us.

    • March 13, 2011 7:43 pm

      Dear Ice. NYC with Gums = crazy but excellent. Wish I could be there! Promise me if you come back to let me know so we can either meet up in DC, or I’ll come up to NYC (it’s only 4 hours by bus / train). Be careful, don’t OD on winegums, bacon, or whatever it is Gums feeds you.

  3. Ian permalink
    March 14, 2011 6:47 am

    What about the dog’s reaction when you stopped petting him?
    DSC07784

Leave a Reply

